Five dubbed All-OAC in Women's Tennis for 2018-19 campaign

Five dubbed All-OAC in Women's Tennis for 2018-19 campaign

By Blake Moore

| Women's Tennis All-OAC Release (.pdf) |

ADA — The Ohio Northern women's tennis program landed five student-athletes on the All-Ohio Athletic Conference squads for the 2018-19 season, the league office announced Thursday morning.

Senior Ashley Ochsenhirt (Birmingham, Ala./Briarwood Christian) guided the Polar Bear honorees after being named First-Team All-OAC for the third consecutive season. In addition, freshman Olivia Schrager (Dayton/Miami Valley) was named Second-Team All-OAC while juniors Mackenzie Wills (Ada), Katie Curry (Oxford/Talawanda), and Kaleigh Cummins (Springfield/Northeastern) were each awarded Honorable Mention status.

Ochsenhirt has been awarded First-Team All-OAC honors in all three seasons she has played at Ohio Northern after transferring from Mississippi College.

This season, she ended second on the team with 25 doubles victories at No. 1-2 doubles and ended fourth on the team with 19 singles wins, playing exclusively on the No. 1 court. Overall, she finished her senior season at 44-15, which included an 11-3 record against conference opposition.

In her three seasons at ONU, Ochsenhirt has compiled a 124-46 overall record for a .729 career win percentage. She posted 65 career victories in doubles play and 59 wins in singles action and stands among the top-10 on the single-season wins list in singles, doubles, and overall victories at Ohio Northern.

In addition to her three all-conference accolades, Ochsenhirt has been named the OAC Player of the Week six times during her career.

Schrager was named an All-OAC honoree for the first time in her career after a standout freshman season.

The Dayton product ended third on the team with a 21-10 singles mark and finished fourth with a 16-16 record in doubles action. She also ended fourth on the team with 37 victories overall during her inaugural season at ONU.

In conference play, the freshman compiled a 5-2 doubles mark and an impressive 6-1 record in singles action, primarily at the No. 2 slot.

Wills recorded her first All-OAC nod after tying the program records for single-season doubles victories and single-season overall wins in the 2018-19 season.

The Ada native led Ohio Northern with 50 overall wins, 26 doubles victories, and tied for the team lead with 24 singles wins. During conference play, she posted an undefeated 7-0 singles record and put together a 6-2 doubles record in the OAC.

She was also named the OAC Player of the Week for the first time in her career this season on April 15.

Wills currently ranks seventh on Ohio Northern's all-time wins list with 133 career victories and sits tied for eighth on the all-time singles wins list at 67. She also owns 66 career doubles victories, just two wins removed from the all-time top-10 list at ONU.

Curry also garnered her first all-conference honor with the announcement.

This season, Curry tied Wills for the team lead with 24 singles victories and added 17 doubles wins, which ended third for the Polar Bears. She boasted a 6-1 OAC singles record and a 6-2 OAC doubles mark amid her 41 victories this year.

Curry joined Ochsenhirt and Wills in the ONU 100-Win Club in 2018-19, ending the year with a 106-49 overall record in three seasons.

Cummins picked up her first All-OAC honor with her Honorable Mention kudos.

This season, Cummins overcame an injury to post a 10-17 overall record for the Polar Bears. The junior from Springfield went 6-9 in doubles play, including a 3-2 mark against the OAC, and finished 4-8 in singles play at the No. 3 slot.

She currently owns a 57-49 overall career record with 30 singles wins and 27 doubles wins.

In addition to her All-OAC nod, Cummins was named an Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Scholar Athlete in 2017-18.

Ohio Northern concluded the 2018-19 season with a 20-7 overall record and a 6-2 mark in the OAC to finish third in the final league standings. In the OAC Tournament, the Polar Bears pushed past Capital 5-0 and Otterbein 5-2 to reach the title match before bowing out to champion John Carroll.