Women's Tennis: Ohio Northern (19-6 Overall) at OAC Championships Semifinals/Finals

Women's Tennis: Ohio Northern (19-6 Overall) at OAC Championships Semifinals/Finals

Friday, May 3, 2019, 4:30 p.m. — v Otterbein, Lindner Family Tennis Center, Mason, Ohio
Saturday, May 4, 2019, 2 p.m. — v JCU/MtU, Lindner Family Tennis Center, Mason, Ohio

| OAC Tournament Site |

This Weekend's Championships: The third-seeded Ohio Northern women's tennis team will face second-seeded Otterbein in the OAC Tournament Semifinals at the Lindner Tennis Center in Mason, Ohio Friday at 4:30 pm ... The ONU-OU winner will advance to the finals on Saturday at 2 pm against either top-seeded John Carroll or fourth-seeded Mount Union ... Ohio Northern its making its 18th consecutive appearance in the OAC Tournament and has competed in every OAC Tournament since the event's inception in 2002 ... ONU captured titles in 2002, 2005, 2009, 2012, 2013 and 2015 ... ONU has made it to the OAC Tournament finals six of the past seven seasons and 15 times in the first 17 years of the event ... ONU advanced to the semifinals with a 5-0 victory over sixth-seeded Capital on Wednesday at the Westwood Tennis Center in Lima ... This season, junior Mackenzie Wills leads the team with a 24-3 singles record, a 24-6 doubles record and a 48-9 overall record ... She is just 2 wins shy of the school record of 50 set in 2012-13 by Meghan Letizia ... Junior Katie Curry is second in singles play at 23-7 and freshman Olivia Schrager is third at 20-10 ... Wills (131-42 overall) and senior Ashley Ochsenhirt (121-45) have each become members of ONU's 100-Win Club this season ... Otterbein edged Ohio Northern 5-4 in the regular season on April 24 ... OU won Nos. 1-2 doubles and Nos. 2,3 and 6 singles ... The second-seeded Cardinals received a quarterfinal round bye with a 6-1 league record ... Marriella Briones leads OU with a 17-5 singles mark ... Makayla Sutter is second with 14 singles wins ... Jordyn Traxler has a team-best 15 doubles wins.

Statistical Leaders:

  Singles Wins       Doubles Wins       Overall Wins  
1. Wills 24-3   1. Wills 24-6   1. Wills 48-9
2. Curry 23-7   2.  Ochsenhirt 23-6   2. Ochsenhirt 41-14
3. Schrager 20-10   3. Curry 18-10     Curry 41-17

All-Time Series: ONU leads the all-time series with Otterbein by a 36-10 margin ... Ohio Northern leads the series with John Carroll 25-11 and Mount union 26-7.

Head Coach Scott Wills: Wills is in his 18th season at the helm of the ONU women's tennis program … He currently stands first in coaching victories among all active Ohio college tennis coaches (NCAA DI, DII, DIII, and NAIA) and is the winningest coach in school history with a 367-98 (.789) record, including a 140-15 (.903) mark against conference competition … He has also coached the program to eight regular season conference crowns and six OAC Tournament titles.