Women's Tennis: Oberlin (2-3 Overall) at Ohio Northern (4-0 Overall)

Women's Tennis: Oberlin (2-3 Overall) at Ohio Northern (4-0 Overall)

Saturday, Feb. 23, 2019, 5 pm - Westwood Tennis & Fitness Center, Lima, Ohio

| Match Program (.pdf) |

Saturday's Match: The Ohio Northern women's tennis team will begin its spring schedule on Saturday with a home match against Oberlin indoors at the Westwood Tennis and Fitness Center in Lima ... ONU enters the match having posted a 4-0 record in the fall with wins over Defiance, Concordia (Mich.), Thiel (Pa.) and Washington & Jefferson (Pa.) ... Thus far this season, freshman Olivia Schrager leads the Polar Bears with an 8-3 singles mark ... Juniors Katie Curry and Mackenzie Wills have seven singles wins each ... Wills and senior Ashley Ochsenhirt are each a team-best 7-3 in doubles action ... Schrager (14-7) and Wills (14-5) have a team-best 14 wins overall ... Wills is 97-38 overall and needs just three more victories to become a member of ONU's 100-Win Club ... Ochsenhirt is 91-38 in her three seasons at ONU ... The Yeowomen are coming off a tight 5-4 loss to Kalamazoo last Saturday ... OC is led in singles play by freshman Alandria Bellamy (5-5) and junior Delaney Black (4-5) ... Sophomore Maja Shaw Todorovic is a team-best 5-7 in doubles play.

Statistical Leaders:

  Singles Wins       Doubles Wins       Overall Wins  
1. Schrager 8-3   1. Ochsenhirt 7-3   1. Wills 14-5
2. Wills 7-2     Wills 7-3     Schrager 14-7
  Curry 7-3   3. Schrager 6-4   3. Curry 12-8

All-Time Series: OC leads the series between the two schools by an 8-3 margin ... OC has won 6 consecutive matches in the series, including an 8-1 win last season.

Head Coach Scott Wills: Wills begins his 18th season at the helm of the ONU women's tennis program on Wednesday … He currently stands first in coaching victories among all active Ohio college tennis coaches (NCAA DI, DII, DIII, and NAIA) and is the winningest coach in school history with a 352-92 (.793) record, including a 134-14 (.905) mark against conference competition … He has also coached the program to eight regular season conference crowns and six OAC Tournament titles.