Women's Tennis - OAC Tournament Finals: Ohio Northern (22-4 Overall) v John Carroll (15-9 Overall)

Saturday, May 6, 2017, 2 pm - Lindner Family Tennis Center, Mason, Ohio

OAC Championships Site | Match Program (.pdf) |

Saturday's Match: The No. 2 seeded Polar Bears have reached the finals of the OAC Tournament for the 14th time in the 16-year history of the tournament ... Northern is a perfect 16-0 in the OAC Tournament quarterfinals, is 14-2 in the semifinals and won the title in 2015, 13, 12, 09, 05 and 02 ... ONU advanced to the finals with a 5-0 victory over third-seeded Mount Union on Friday night at the South Regency Tennis Club in Miamisburg ... The semifinals were moved indoors due to heavy rains in the area ... Junior Lynn Kelly (Mason) and sophomore Ashley Ochsenhirt (Birmingham, Ala./Briarwood Christian) got Ohio Northern off to a 1-0 start with an 8-1 win at No. 1 doubles ... Seniors Christina Corbean (Dayton/Oakwood) and Brittany Toney (Greenwood, Ind.) won 8-1 at No. 2 doubles to make it 2-0 and freshmen Mackenzie Wills (Ada) and Katherine Curry (Oxford/Talawanda) completed the doubles sweep with an 8-3 win at No. 3 doubles ... Freshman Kaleigh Cummins (Springfield/Northeastern) won 6-3, 6-1 at No. 5 singles to make it 4-0 Ohio Northern and Ochsenhirt then ended the match with a 6-4, 6-2 victory at No. 2 singles ... Ochsenhirt leads ONU with a 23-3 singles record, including a 16-2 mark at No. 1 singles ... She is also 21-3 in doubles and a team-best 44-6 overall ... Wills and Latala are second with 20-6 singles records ... Latala is 19-2 in doubles and is 39-8 overall and Wills is 19-9 in doubles and 39-15 overall ... Corbean has a career record of 63-34 in singles, 64-30 in doubles and 125-64 overall and Toney has a career record of 42-37 in singles, 68-35 in doubles and 110-72 overall ... John Carroll is the No. 1 seed by virtue of winning the OAC Regular Season title with a 9-0 record ... JCU is the defending champion of the tournament and has won the title nine times since 1991.

Statistical Leaders

  Singles Wins
Doubles Wins
        Overall Wins
1. Ochsenhirt
23-3     1. Ochsenhirt 22-3
  1. Ochsenhirt
2. Latala 20-6     2. Toney 20-7     2. Latala 39-8

Wills 20-6     3. Latala 19-2    
Wills 39-15

Series Notes: ONU leads the all-time series between the two schools by an 18-17 margin ... JCU has won two matches in a row, including an 8-1 victory earlier this season.

Head Coach Scott Wills: Wills is in his 16th season as head coach of the Polar Bears ... He is the winningest coach in ONU women's tennis history with a 319-82 (.794) record ... Wills has also been named OAC Coach of the Year five times, most recently in 2015.