Junior Seth Transue captures title at 125 as Wrestling places seventh at Mid-States Invitational

Junior Seth Transue captures title at 125 as Wrestling places seventh at Mid-States Invitational

By Blake Moore 

| ONU Individual Results |

ALMA, Mich. — Junior grappler Seth Transue (Plain City/Dublin Jerome) claimed his second individual championship title in the 2018-19 season Saturday afternoon, winning the 125-pound weight class to lead Ohio Northern to a seventh-place finish at the Mid-States Invitational at Art Smith Arena.

The Polar Bears registered 36.5 team points in the regular season finale to finish seventh in the 12-team field. Wabash (Ind.) secured the team title with 210 points, and host institution Alma placed second with 129.5 points.

Transue topped ONU's individual efforts after posting a 2-0 record to claim the individual title at 125. After receiving an opening-round bye, the junior defeated Wabash's Kory Cavanaugh via a 7-2 decision and Wabash's Chris Diaz via an 11-0 major decision in the championship bout.

Freshman Shaun Wagner (Southington, Conn.) placed fourth  in the 157-pound weight class with a 4-2 mark.

Wagner paced the Polar Bears with his four victories.

He opened the day with a 31-second pin against Defiance's Nicholas Eberly before falling to Wabash's Alex Barr via pin in the second round. The reigning OAC Wrestler of the Week rebounded with three consecutive decisions, reserving his position in the event's top-eight finishers.

Meanwhile, Caprella recorded a 2-2 record with a pair of major decisions on Saturday. The sophomore advanced to the fifth round in the consolation bracket before bowing out with a 7-5 loss to Wagner.

Sophomores Rhett Roeder and Schuyler Caprella (Harrod/Allen East) also picked up multiple wins Saturday at 157. Roeher would record wins via decision, fall, and a forfeit to end 3-2 on the day and Caprella went 2-2 with two major decisions.

Ohio Northern will now break from action until the NCAA Regional meet on February 22-23. Friday's action is slated for an 11 a.m. start at Wabash (Ind.)