Wrestling: Ohio Northern (6-8 Overall) at Pete Willson Wheaton (Ill.) Invitational

Wrestling: Ohio Northern (6-8 Overall) at Pete Willson Wheaton (Ill.) Invitational

Friday-Saturday, January 25-26, 2019, 11 am/10 am (CDT) - King Arena, Wheaton, Ill.

| Pete Willson Wheaton Invitational Site | ONU Individual Results |

This Weekend's Preview: The Ohio Northern wrestling team will travel West to the Pete Willson Wheaton Invitational, which has been held annually since 1938 ... Approximately 38 NCAA Division III schools are expected to compete in the double-elimination individual tournament ... 11 of the 38 teams are ranked in the latest NWCA Top 25 poll ... On Friday, Prelims, Quarterfinals and wrestlebacks will be contested on six matcs beginning at 11 am (CST) ... Saturday's competition will consist of Semifinals, wrestlebacks and the seventh place matches beginning at 10 am, with championship, third place and fifth place matches starting at 12:45 pm ... Trophies and placewinners will be awarded for places one through eight in each of the 10 weight classes ... ONU is coming off losses to John Carroll and #7 Mount Union on Saturday at the OAC Duals at John Carroll ... The Polar Bears were led by No. 11-ranked senior Clayton Davidson and sophomore Cash Thompson with 2-0 records ... Davidson's two wins move his record to 21-5 overall and he remains undefeated in OAC action with a 5-0 record. Thompson is now 18-4, 3-2 ... Thus far this season, No. 24-ranked Jeff Andrews leads the team with a 23-7 record ... Davidson is second at 21-5 and Thompson is third at 18-4.

ONU Statistical Leaders:

  Wins       Pins       Tech Falls       Maj. Dec.  
1. Andrews 23-7   1. Davidson 7   1. Andrews 7   1. Andrews 5
2.  Davidson 21-5   2.  Thompson  5   2.  Transue 4   2. Transue 4
3. Thompson 18-4     Roeder 5   3.  Caprella 2     Davidson 4
                          Thompson 4

Head Coach Ron Beaschler: Beaschler is in his 31st season at the helm of the Ohio Northern wrestling program and currently stands as the longest-tenured head wrestling coach at the institution ... He sports a 324-232-4 career coaching record in dual action, a winning percentage of .582, making him the all-time winningest coach in program history ... Beaschler was inducted into the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Hall of Fame in 2008 and has been named OAC Coach of the Year three times in 1993, 2012, and 2013.c