Senior Clayton Davidson gets a pin to lead Wrestling in 22-18 setback at Heidelberg in OAC battle

Senior Clayton Davidson gets a pin to lead Wrestling in 22-18 setback at Heidelberg in OAC battle

By Tim Glon

TIFFIN — Senior Clayton Davidson (Kirtland) won by fall at 174 pounds to lead the Ohio Northern wrestling team in a 22-18 loss at Heidelberg on Tuesday night at Sieberling Gymnasium.

The Polar Bears fall to 0-2 overall and 0-2 in the Ohio Athletic Conference, while the Student Princes improve to 4-1, 1-0.

Junior Seth Transue (Plain City/Dublin Jerome) got a takedown with 17 seconds left to rally for an 11-10 win at 125 pounds to get ONU off to a quick 3-0 lead.

After a pair of Heidelberg wins made it 7-3, junior Jeff Andrews (New Baltimore, Mich./Anchor Bay) got a takedown with four seconds left to win 9-8 at 149 pounds and get ONU within 7-6.

Sophomore Schuyler Caprella (Harrod/Allen East) gave Northern a 9-7 lead with a 9-5 decision at 157.

Davidson then won by fall in 5:41 at 174 pounds to put the Polar Bears ahead 15-11.

But the Student Princes would win the next two weight classes with a tech fall and a pin to go ahead 22-15.

Sophomore Austin Keeley (Marysville, Mich.) wrapped up the meet with a solid 4-1 victory at Heavyweight.

The Polar Bears will return to action on Saturday when they host the 38th annual ONU Invitational at the ONU Sports Center Fieldhouse. Wrestling will begin at 9 am.

Heidelberg 22, Ohio Northern 18

125 — Seth Transue (ONU) dec. Pacer Quire, 11-10
133 — Mason Brainard (HU) maj. dec. Cameron Poulton, 15-5
141 — Richard Bogetich (HU) dec. Brandon Bartlome, 3-1
149 — Jeff Andrews (ONU) dec. Slade Todd, 9-8
157 — Schuyler Caprella (ONU) dec. Devin Miller, 9-5
165 — Dante Colza (HU) maj. dec. Jordan Hardrick, 12-1
174 — Clayton Davidson (ONU) pinned Jeremiah Slagle, 5:41
184 — Dylan Roth (HU) pinned Cash Thompson, :52
197 — Tyler Hammock (HU) tech fall Chase Gibson, 20-2, 6:07
285 — Austin Keeley (ONU) dec. Christian Climer, 4-1

Exhibition Matches

149 — Jevyn Pratt (ONU) dec. Dwight Parker, 15-14
149 — Shaun Wagner (ONU) maj. dec. Joseph Damm, 16-4
157 — Dylan Dolph (ONU) maj. dec. Jacon Horsch, 16-6