Wrestling: Ohio Northern (9-9 Overall, 3-2 OAC) at Heidelberg (7-8 Overall, 3-2 OAC)

Wrestling: Ohio Northern (9-9 Overall, 3-2 OAC) at Heidelberg (7-8 Overall, 3-2 OAC)

Tuesday, February 13, 2018, 7:30 pm - ONU Sports Center, Ada, Ohio

Tuesday's Dual: The Polar Bears will wrap their regular season on Tuesday night with an Ohio Athletic Conference dual meet at Heidelberg ... ONU and HU are tied for third place in the OAC with 3-2 records ... With a victory, Ohio Northern would clinch a winning season, while Heidelberg would finish at .500 on the season with a win ... ONU rested most of its starters and still finished fifth of 10 teams at the Mid-States Invitational last weekend ... Sophomore Jeff Andrews was named the OAC Wresgtler of the Week after winning the 149-pound title with a 4-0 mark ... Freshman Cash Thompson won the 184-pound weight class ... In all, seven Polar Bears placed in the tournament ... Thus far this season, Thompson and senior Alex Bair lead the team with 30 wins each ... Junior Clayton Davidson is third at 26-11 and sophomore Nate Barcaskey is fourth at 24-7 ... Sophomore Jacob Thompson has a team-best 12 pins ... Heidelberg is coming off a 35-8 loss to No. 6 Baldwin Wallace last Tuesday ... Mason Brainard got a 23-8 tech fall win over #6 Chris Doyle at 125 and Noah Messerall won by decision 7-4 at 157 for HU ... This season, the Student Princes are led by Brainard with a 22-8 record  at 125 pounds ... Tyler Hammack is 21-10 at 197 and Christian Climer is 17-12 at heavyweight.

ONU Statistical Leaders:

  Wins       Pins       Tech Falls       Maj. Dec.  
1. Bair 30-13   1. J.Thompson 12   1. Caprella 6   1. Bair 4
  C. Thompson 30-16   2. Davidson 9     Bair 6     Andrews 4
3. Davidson 26-11     Bair 9   3. Andrews 4   3. Caprella 3
          C. Thompson 9             Kowal 3

ONU head coach Ron Beaschler: Beaschler in his 27th season at ONU with a 318-223-4 record, a winning percentage of .587 ... He is the all-time winningest coach in ONU history and has the longest tenure as head wrestling coach at ONU ... He was inducted into the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Hall of Fame in 2008 ... He was named OAC Coach of the Year in 1993, 2012 and 2013.