Wrestling: Muskingum (4-8 Overall, 0-4 OAC) at Ohio Northern (8-9 Overall, 2-2 OAC)

Wrestling: Muskingum (4-8 Overall, 0-4 OAC) at Ohio Northern (8-9 Overall, 2-2 OAC)

Tuesday, February 6, 2018, 7:30 pm - ONU Sports Center, Ada, Ohio

| Match Program (.pdf) |

Tuesday's Dual: The Polar Bears will wrap up the home portion of their schedule at home against Ohio Athletic Conference foe Muskingum on Tuesday on Senior Night ... ONU will honor its six seniors (Alex Bair, Ian Brown, Evan Hickey, Seth Meyer, Evan Morgan, Gavin Nelson and Brad Taton) in a pre-match ceremony ... Ohio Northern placed five wrestlers and finished seventh as a team at the 15-team Baldwin Wallace John Summa Invitational last weekend ... ONU rested most of its starters and still finished in the upper half of the team standings ... Bair and Hickey led the Polar Bears with third place finishes at 184 and 197 pounds, respectively ... Freshman Cash Thompson was fourth at 184, sophomore Jacob Thompson was seventh at 174 and freshman Jeff Andrews was eighth at 149 pounds ... Thus far this season, Bair leads the team with a 26-13 record, is second with 6 tech falls and is third with 8 pins ... Sophomore Nate Barcaskey (24-6), junior Clayton Davidson (24-11) and Cash Thompson (24-16) are second with 24 wins each ... Jacob Thompson has a team-best 12 pins ... Muskingum is coming off a 14th place finish at the Baldwin Wallace John Summa Invitational last weekend ... Junior Tanner Walker placed fourth at 165 pounds to lead the Muskies ... This season, the Muskies are led by junior Jordan Burkholder with a 23-8 record and 8 pins at 125 pounds ... Walker is second on the team with a 20-9 mark, 6 pins and a team-best 7 tech falls at 165 pounds ... Junior Antonio Zapata is 13-10 with 4 pounds at 197 and senior Anthony Cole-Young is 12-13 with 2 pins at 174 pounds ... MU is coming off a 36-7 loss to #9 Baldwin Wallace in its last OAC dual on Jan. 30 ... Burkholder won 15-4 at 125 and freshman Garrett Mitchel won 3-1 at heavyweight for MU.

ONU Statistical Leaders:

  Wins       Pins       Tech Falls       Maj. Dec.  
1. Bair 26-14   1. J.Thompson 12   1. Caprella 7   1. Kowal 3
2. Barcaskey 24-6   2. Davidson 10   2. Bair 6   2. 8 Tied With 2
  Davidson 24-11   3. Bair 8   3. Kowal 3        
  C.Thompson 24-16             C.Thompson 3        
                  Meyer 3        

ONU head coach Ron Beaschler: Beaschler in his 27th season at ONU with a 317-223-4 record, a winning percentage of .586 ... He is the all-time winningest coach in ONU history and has the longest tenure as head wrestling coach at ONU ... He was inducted into the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Hall of Fame in 2008 ... He was named OAC Coach of the Year in 1993, 2012 and 2013.