Wrestling: Otterbein (6-4 Overall, 1-3 OAC) at Ohio Northern (7-9 Overall, 1-2 OAC)

Wrestling: Otterbein (6-4 Overall, 1-3 OAC) at Ohio Northern (7-9 Overall, 1-2 OAC)

Tuesday, January 30, 2018, 7:30 pm - ONU Sports Center, Ada, Ohio

| Match Program (.pdf) |

Tuesday's Dual: The Polar Bears will resume the Ohio Athletic Conference portion of its schedule at home against Otterbein on Tuesday ... Varsity action begins at 7:30 pm and there are 6-8 JV bouts expected before hand ... Ohio Northern placed four wrestlers and finished 10th as a team at the Wheaton (Ill.) Pete Willson Invitational last weekend ... Junior Clayton Davidson led the Polar Bears with a third place finish at 174 pounds ... Davidson was seeded fourth in his weight class and posted a 5-1 record on the weekend ... Fifth-seeded sophomore Nate Barcaskey placed sixth at Heavyweight with a 3-0 record on Friday to reach the semifinals, but medical forfeited his three matches on Saturday to finish sixth ... Senior Gavin Nelson, who was seeded fourth at 157, and freshman Schuyler Caprella, who was unseeded at 149, each finished seventh in their respective weight classes with 4-2 records ... Barcaskey (23-6) and Davidson (23-11) lead ONU with 23 victories this season ... Davidson and Jacob Thompson (12-11) share the team lead with 9 pins each ... Otterbein is coming off a 26th place finish at the Wheaton (Ill.) Pete Willson Invitational last weekend ... Jackson Lasko placed fifth at 125 pounds to lead the Cardinals ... Lasko went 4-2 with three major decisions and a pin ... Otterbein's other wins came from Jake Vaughan (149), Bryce Hessler (174) and heavyweight Nate Temple ... OU wrestled without nationally-ranked standouts Willy Plaisir (165) and Drew Kasper (197), who were held out for precautionary reasons to rest injuries ... Lasko leads the team with a 21-6 record and 10 major decisions ... Plaisir is second at 17-4 with 5 falls and Kasper at 16-2 with 4 tech falls.

ONU Statistical Leaders:

  Wins       Pins       Tech Falls       Maj. Dec.  
1. Barcaskey 23-6   1. J.Thompson 9   1. Caprella 6   1. Kowal 3
  Davidson 23-11     Davidson 9   2. Bair 5   2. Transue 2
3. Bair 21-12   3. Barcaskey 6   3. Kowal 3     Barcaskey 2
  C.Thompson 21-14             C.Thompson 3     Caprella 2
                  Meyer 3     Bair 2
                          C.Thompson 2

ONU head coach Ron Beaschler: Beaschler in his 27th season at ONU with a 316-223-4 record, a winning percentage of .586 ... He is the all-time winningest coach in ONU history and has the longest tenure as head wrestling coach at ONU ... He was inducted into the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Hall of Fame in 2008 ... He was named OAC Coach of the Year in 1993, 2012 and 2013.