Wrestling: Ohio Northern (5-5 Overall) at Lycoming (Pa.) Budd Whitehill National Duals

Wrestling: Ohio Northern (5-5 Overall) at Lycoming (Pa.) Budd Whitehill National Duals

Friday-Saturday, January 12-13, 2018, 9 am - Lamade Gymnasium, Williamsport, Pa.

| Day 1 Bracket (.pdf) | Lycoming (Pa.) National Duals Tournament Central page |

Lycoming (Pa.) National Duals Preview: The Polar Bears will travel east for the Lycoming (Pa.) Budd Whitehill National Duals Friday and Saturday at Lamade Gymnasium in Williamsport, Pa. ... 16 NCAA Division III teams  will compete in the two-day team tournament ... Friday's competition features round-robin duals in four pools, with each team wrestling against the other three teams in its pool ... On Saturday, the four pool winners will compete for places 1-4, the second place teams in each pool will compete for places 5-8, the third place teams will compete for places 9-12 the fourth place teams will compete for places 13-16 ... Four of the 16 teams in the tournament are nationally ranked in this week's NWCA poll ... ONU will compete in Group C and will have dual matches with New Jersey at 10:30 am, #18 Wesleyan (Conn.) at 1:30 pm and Oswego State (N.Y.) at 4:30 pm on Friday ... Each team will compete in five dual meets in the tournament ... Thus far this season, sophomore Nate Barcaskey leads the Polar Bears with a 16-3 record and 6 pins ... Junior Clayton Davidson (15-8) and freshman Cash Thompson (15-10) are tied for second with 15 wins and five pins each.

ONU Statistical Leaders:

  Wins       Pins       Tech Falls       Maj. Dec.  
1. Barcaskey 16-3   1. Barcaskey 6   1. Caprella 4   1. Kowal 3
2. Transue 13-6     J.Thompson 6   2. Bair 3   2. Transue 2
  Davidson 13-7   3. Davidson 5   3. 9 tied with 1        Barcaskey 2
          C.Thompson 4             Caprella 2

ONU head coach Ron Beaschler: Beaschler in his 27th season at ONU with a 314-219-4 record, a winning percentage of .588 ... He is the all-time winningest coach in ONU history and has the longest tenure as head wrestling coach at ONU ... He was inducted into the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Hall of Fame in 2008 ... He was named OAC Coach of the Year in 1993, 2012 and 2013.