Men's Tennis: Ohio Northern (0-0 Overall) at Oberlin Tournament

Men's Tennis: Ohio Northern (0-0 Overall) at Oberlin Tournament

Sat., Sept. 16 - Sun., Sept. 17, 2017 - Hunsinger Courts - Oberlin, Ohio

This weekend's match: The Ohio Northern men's tennis team will open the 2017 campaign this weekend as it opens the Fall portion of its schedule at the Oberlin Invitational ... The tournament will take place over the course of two days ... Two time letterwinners and juniors Jake Abbott, David Hayman and Tim Kargl all return for Northern in 2017-18 ... Hayman, a 2016-17 Second Team All-OAC honoree, led the team in singles play last season with a team-best 17 victories, primarily at the Nos. 2 and 3 singles courts ... Abbott, a 2016-17 Scholar ITA Athlete, was tied for second on the team with 12 singles victories, while Kargl, who was named Honorable Mention All-OAC, paced Northern at No. 1 singles with seven victories ... Hayman and Kargl were tied for first on the team with 12 victories each in doubles play, while Abbott also posted double-digit victories in doubles play (10) ... Senior letterwinner Cody Hurley will also make his return in 2017-18 ... The senior recorded six victories in singles play, and was fourth on the team a season ago with 11 doubles victories ... Sophomore Tyler Frantz and Andrew Garcia also return for ONU after lettering in 2016-17 ... Frantz owned a 12-8 record in singles play, while Garcia posted seven victories at No. 2, 3, and 4 singles ... Garcia was tied for first on the team with 12 victories in doubles play, while Frantz posted nine victories in doubles play.

Returning Statistical Leaders (2016-17 Stats):

  Singles Wins       Doubles Wins       Overall Wins  
1. Hayman 17   1. Hayman 12   1. Hayman 29
2. Abbott 12     Kargl 12   2. Abbott 22
  Frantz 12     Garcia 12   3. Franz 21

Series Record: Oberlin leads the all-time series between the two schools by a 10-5 margin ... Northern has won the last four meetings between the schools ... This weekends matchup marks the first time the Polar Bears have played the Yeomen since 1999.

Head Coach Mike Bonnell: Bonnell is in his second season as head coach of the Polar Bears and has an 11-11 record, a winning percentage of .500.